Council Info

Leadership of the Section is comprised of the Section Council and officers, including the chair, vice chair, secretary, treasurer, and ex officio, together with nine other members elected by the Section. Appointed chairs also serve on the Section committees: Employee Benefits, Estates and Trusts, Federal Income Tax, State and Local Tax, and Young Tax Lawyers.

Officers 2023–2024

Section Liaisons

Sherriee L. Detzler
SBM Commissioner Liaison

Neal Nusholtz
Probate & Estate Planning Section Liaison

Robert D. Heitmeyer
IRS Area Counsel Liaison

Eric R. Skinner
IRS Area Counsel Liaison

Jeff E Kirkey
ICLE Contacts Liaison—Tax Conference

Max H. Matthies
ICLE Contacts Liaison—Tax Law Series

Committee Chairs & Vice Chairs

Samantha Kopacz
Employee Benefits

Buzz S. Leach
Estates & Trusts

Stephen J. Dunn
Federal Income Tax

Samuel L. Parks
Young Tax Lawyers

Seth O'Loughlin
State and Local Tax

Council Members

Josh Bemis—Term Expires 2024
Tax Conference—2024

Nick Papasifakis—Term Expires 2025
Tax Conference—2025

Jennifer Watkins—Term Expires 2024
Editor, Michigan Tax Lawyer

Evgeny (Gene) Magidenko—Term Expires 2025
Strategic Planning/Membership Outreach

Negah McKevitt—Term Expires 2025
Tax Court Luncheons & Annual Meeting

Joshua Beard—Term Expires 2024
State/Federal Legislation Monitor and Public Policy Liaison

Sheridan DuPont—Term Expires 2025
Grant Program

Eric Gregory—Term Expires 2024
Public Communications

Christina Wease—Term Expires 2024
Pro Bono Initiative & Student Outreach

Past Chairs Advisory Group

Michael P. Monaghan, Clinton Township  

Andrew W. MacLeod, Detroit

William C. Lentine, Bloomfield Hills

Program Facilitator

Barb Barratt, Detroit