Section Awards

The Young Lawyers Section is now accepting nominations for the 2018 Regeana Myrick Outstanding Young Lawyer Award. This award annually recognizes a Michigan young lawyer who has demonstrated an overwhelming commitment to public service, service to the bar, as well as exceptional leadership.

Nominees for the award must be in good standing with the State Bar of Michigan and be 36 years old or younger OR have practiced for five years or less, whichever period is greater.

View the Nomination Form. MS WORD

Note: Members of the Section's Executive Council are not eligible. For a list of Council members, please visit:

The award will be presented on Saturday, June 16, at the 11th Annual Young Lawyers Summit at Boyne Highlands. The nomination deadline has been extended to May 4, 2018! May the fourth be with you!

For more information on nominations, please contact Kara Hart-Negrich at


In 1997, the Young Lawyers Section renamed its “Outstanding Young Lawyer Award” in honor of Regeana Myrick, an Executive Council member of the YLS, who passed away in August of that year.

In addition to serving on the YLS Executive Council, Regeana was a dedicated member of many bar associations. Regeana was committed to education and public service. She is remembered by her family, friends and colleagues as a bright and charitable woman with many talents who was always mindful of those less fortunate than herself.

Past winners of the Regeana Myrick Outstanding Young Lawyer Award include the following individuals:

  • 2017—Katherine Marcuz
    • Finalists: Abril Valdez and Ryan Berman
  • 2016—Imran Syed
    • Finalists: Mitra Jafary-Hariri and Emily Thomas
  • 2015—Takura Nyamfukudza
  • 2014—Marilena David-Martin
  • 2013—Ronda L. Tate
  • 2012—Michelle A. Carter
  • 2011—Michael St. John
  • 2010—David L. Campbell
  • 2009—Jade Edwards
  • 2008—Jonathan N. Jilek
  • 2007—Bridgette Sparkman
  • 2006—Marla A. Linderman
  • 2005—Erika S. Julien
  • 2004—Richard Bernstein
  • 2003—Erika Butler-Akinyemi