Excellence in Intellectual Property Award

The Excellence in Intellectual Property Award is awarded by the Intellectual Property Section of the State Bar of Michigan to recognize and celebrate the accomplishments of attorneys who have excelled in the intellectual property field and have exemplified professionalism, excellence, and a dedication to furthering opportunities and achievements in the area of intellectual property. The recipients serve as an inspiration to intellectual property lawyers and the community and approach his or her practice with civility and professionalism in a manner that enhances his or her standing in the field, the courtroom, and the community.

Any attorney who is in good standing and is practicing or has practiced in intellectual property-related activities shall be eligible for nomination. Nominees must be involved in areas of the law that include patent, trademark or copyright law, and/or litigation related thereto.

Past Recipients

  • 2015 - The Honorable Avern Cohn
  • 2016 - Hal Milton
  • 2017 - Susan Kornfield
  • 2018 - David Berry
  • 2019 - Not awarded
  • 2020 - Not awarded