Section Awards


In 1997, the Young Lawyers Section renamed its “Outstanding Young Lawyer Award” in honor of Regeana Myrick, an Executive Council member of the YLS, who passed away in August of that year.

In addition to serving on the YLS Executive Council, Regeana was a dedicated member of many bar associations. Regeana was committed to education and public service. She is remembered by her family, friends and colleagues as a bright and charitable woman with many talents who was always mindful of those less fortunate than herself.

Past winners of the Regeana Myrick Outstanding Young Lawyer Award include the following individuals:

  • 2019—Erin Flynn
    • Finalists: Kyle Kamidoi and Erika Riggs
  • 2018—Kaitlin Brown
  • 2017—Katherine Marcuz
    • Finalists: Abril Valdez and Ryan Berman
  • 2016—Imran Syed
    • Finalists: Mitra Jafary-Hariri and Emily Thomas
  • 2015—Takura Nyamfukudza
  • 2014—Marilena David-Martin
  • 2013—Ronda L. Tate
  • 2012—Michelle A. Carter
  • 2011—Michael St. John
  • 2010—David L. Campbell
  • 2009—Jade Edwards
  • 2008—Jonathan N. Jilek
  • 2007—Bridgette Sparkman
  • 2006—Marla A. Linderman
  • 2005—Erika S. Julien
  • 2004—Richard Bernstein
  • 2003—Erika Butler-Akinyemi