Outstanding Achievement Award

Outstanding Achievement Award Winner—George W. Gregory

 The Solo and Small Firm Section of the State Bar of Michigan is proud to announce George W. Gregory as the winner of the Section's Outstanding Achievement Award for 2018.

George has made many significant contributions to the Solo & Small Firm Section and to the State Bar of Michigan in his 30 years of practice. George was a professor with Wayne State University's School of Business Administration where he taught classes at the undergraduate and graduate levels. He was a revenue agent with the IRS from 1973–1980. He is very active in the Section, and earlier this year served as a speaker on taxation at our spring taxation seminar given at the Auburn Hills campus of WMU-Cooley Law School.

George has served in numerous capacities in other sections as well, including being chair of the Probate & Estate Planning Section and the Taxation Section. George was also chair of the Tax Section’s After Hours Tax Series, the 1994 Summer Tax Conference, and the Tax Section’s Directory. He was one of the draftsmen of the Michigan Estate Tax Act, which repealed the old Michigan inheritance tax. He has written about tax related topics for the Michigan Bar Journal and other publications. George is also a CPA and has been a member of the Michigan Association of Certified Public Accountants and the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. George is rated AV for very high to preeminent legal abilities by the Martindale-Hubble rating service and has been named by Best Lawyers magazine as their Lawyer of the Year for 2014 in Litigation-Trusts for the Detroit area.

George W. Gregory joins a distinguished list of previous award recipients; last year, Elizabeth Silverman won the award, Professor Gary P. Bauer of WMU-Cooley Law School was our 2016 winner, State Bar Past President Thomas Rombach was our recipient in 2015, and Past President Rombach had previously helped present the initial award to dual winners Bill Roy and retired judge Edward Sosnick in 2014.

The Outstanding Achievement Award is given annually to an attorney or attorneys, who are current members of the Solo & Small Firm Section, and who have exhibited the highest standards of practice and commitment for the benefit of our section or others.

The recipient's contribution may have been made during the past year or by virtue of cumulative effort or service during their career.

The Solo and Small Firm Section is proud to have George W. Gregory as its 2018 Outstanding Achievement Award Winner.

Award Winners

2018: George W. Gregory
Elizabeth A. Silverman
Gary P. Bauer
Thomas C. Rombach
2014: William A. Roy & Edward Sosnick