Labor Law: 2021 Mid-Winter/Annual Meeting

When:  Jan 29, 2021 from 01:30 PM to 05:00 PM (ET)

This meeting will be a great opportunity to learn about the most recent decisions relevant to those in our section, including updates on PERA, NLRA, ELCRA, Title VII, PWDCRA, ADA, FMLA, FLSA, and more. Immediately following the meeting, we will present the 2021 Distinguished Service Award to a deserving colleague.

Call for Speakers

The Labor & Employment Council is seeking presenters for the Labor and Employment Law Section’s upcoming virtual Mid-Winter Meeting and future presentations. At this time we are considering speakers who would be willing to present updates on PERA, NLRA, ELCRA, Title VII, PWDCRA, ADA, FMLA, and FLSA. Candidates must be able to commit to virtually presenting on Friday, January 29, 2021, between 1:30–5:00 p.m. and providing materials at least two weeks in advance of that date. Anyone interested should email Heidi Sharp at by Monday, November 30, 2020, expressing their interest, the topic on which they propose to present, and any other information which could be used in selecting them.

Distinguished Service Award Nominations Sought

The section is also inviting nominations for its 2021 Distinguished Service Award that will be presented at the Mid-Winter Meeting on January 29. We are hoping you will take this opportunity to highlight the accomplishments of a colleague who is deserving of this honor. The award recognizes an attorney who has demonstrated, for a period of 20 years or more, that he/she:

  • Has made major contributions to the practice of labor and employment law
  • Reflects the highest ethical principles, including principles of civility and professionalism
  • Has advanced the development of labor and employment law
  • Has a long-established commitment to excellence
  • Is recognized and respected by constituents in the labor and employment community

Please send the name(s) of all nominees and a statement as to their qualifications for the award to the attention of Michelle Crockett at no later than Monday, December 7, 2020.

Below is a list of past honorees for your reference.

Past Recipients

2020—Barry Goldman
2019—Megan P. Norris
2018—Timothy Howlett and Stuart M. Israel
2017—Michael Pitt and David Calzone
2016—Kathy Bogas and John Runyan
2015—Richard Mittenthal
2014—Janet Cooper
2013—Joseph Golden
2012—George N. Wirth
2011—Thomas J. Barnes
2010—Leonard D. Givens
2009—Sheldon Stark
2008—Leonard R. Page
2007—H. Rhett Pinsky
2006—Robert J. Battista
2005—Carl E. Ver Beek
2004—Gordon A. Gregory
2003—Joseph C. Marshall III
2003—John F. Brady
2002—James E. Tobin
2001—Erwin B. Ellman
2000—Theodore J. St. Antoine
1999—George T. Roumell Jr.
1998—William M. Saxton
1997—Theodore Sachs