With special thanks, the editors acknowledge John Tatum for his countless hours in designing and producing the Deskbook. We also acknowledge Constance Tatum for her considerable behind-the-scenes work in design and production.

    We thank Eugene Smary, Chris Dunsky and Charles Denton for assistance in editing.

    We acknowledge Doreen Defauw (paralegal at Beier Howlett) for template design and directions for typists, and Katherine Hammers (paralegal at Honigman) and Bill Roush (attorney at Bodman) for hyperlinking assistance.

    For their encouragement of (and patience for) this project, we thank the Council and present and former chairs of the Environmental Law Section, including Peter Holmes, John Byl, Susan Topp, Charles Barbieri, Chris Dunsky, Charles Denton and Anna Maiuri.

    We acknowledge the Environmental Law Reporter, a project of the Environmental Law Institute, for permission to reprint cases originally published in the Environmental Law Reporter, which are copyright 1972 and 1974, Environmental Law Institute, Washington, D.C., and reprinted with permission of the Environmental Law Reporter.

    We acknowledge the support of the Environmental Law Section in funding the access to the Casemaker libraries and Chris Dunn at for his help in deciphering the search parameters for early Michigan cases, the court rules, administrative rules and other libraries, which were necessary to provide hyperlinking in the chapters. We also acknowledge the support teams at Google Scholar and the Legal Information Institute at Cornell University Law School for assistance in defining general search parameters to provide access to the source material.