2018–2019 Officers & Members

Chair Biography

Paula AylwardPaula Aylward has been admitted to practice law since 1989, first in New York, and then in Massachusetts. Following her graduation from Suffolk University Law School, Paula worked for years as a child abuse and sex crimes prosecutor in Brooklyn. After leaving New York, Paula practiced in the areas of civil litigation, criminal defense, and appeals, in Boston, Massachusetts, and Houston.

For more than 18 years, Paula has practiced in Michigan, where she focuses on child welfare and family law trial court cases and appeals. Paula has also developed a niche administrative agency practice appealing improper denials and cancellations of Title IV-E foster care funding and appealing mistaken DHHS decisions listing individuals on Michigan’s Child Abuse and Neglect Central Registry.

Paula has contributed her legal research and writing skills to various SCAO/DHHS work groups over the years, including several workgroups seeking to revise the Central Registry provisions of the Child Protection Law, a parent-child visitation workgroup, a court forms workgroup, and others.

She is Chair of the Children’s Law Section, serves on the Children’s Law Section Education Committee to organize training events, and has published articles in the Child Welfare Law Journal, and in the Michigan Probate Judges Association's Inter-Com. Paula has presented trainings on Title IV-E appeals at the invitation of the Michigan Probate Judges Association and for the State Court Administrative Office (Judges from Regions II & V).



Paula A. Aylward
Allegiant Legal PC
105 W Michigan Ave., Ste. D
Marshall, MI 49068

Phone: (269) 781-8871
Chair-Elect: Stephanie Maegan Cardenas

Grand Rapids
Secretary: Lynn M. Perry

Grand Rapids
Treasurer: Meredith E. Dahlen

Term Expires 2019:

Hon. Monte J. Burmeister
Erin K. House

Elizabeth McCree
Deborah P. Paruch
Jennifer A. Pilette

Grayling (Crawford County Probate & Family Court Judge)
Benton Harbor

Term Expires 2020: Terina M. Carte
Hon. Tracy E. Green
Eric Gregory Scott
Nichole Lynn Smithson
Suzanne C. Stephan
Detroit (Wayne County Family Juvenile Judge)
Ann Arbor
Term Expires 2021: Karen Gullberg Cook
William E. Ladd
Alicia M. Lane
Christine P. Piatkowski
Shannon Laura Urbon

Beverly Hills
Referee Association of Michigan Member Lynn M. Perry Grand Rapids
Commissioner Liaison: Barry R. Powers Clinton Township
Rep./Criminal Law Section: Christine P. Piatkowski Brighton
Rep./Family Law Section: Christine P. Piatkowski Brighton